Am I enough?

Shelly_quoteJPG

At that time Mary got ready and hurried to a town in the hill country of Judea, where she entered Zechariah’s home and greeted Elizabeth. When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”

Luke 1:39-45

 

Why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me?” I hear an echo to Elizabeth’s question to Mary through the voices of the women I mentor. When I challenge them to risk bravely and use their talents with broad reaching influence, they often respond with the same sentiment.

Who me? Why me? Oh, I can’t do that. Someone else is more suited.

Those same words spilled out of my own mouth a few years ago during my own pivotal coaching conversation. Sitting in a booth, over plates of spaghetti, my leadership coach asks me, “If you could do anything you want without any obstacles like money, time or position, what would you do?”

“I would write from passion, not obligation,” I answer with swiftness.

“Then why aren’t you doing that?”

After a few swallows of salad and slow sips of Cabernet, I wash fear down my throat and break the awkward pause pregnant with expectancy across the table.

“I’m not sure I’m good enough to be successful.”

Behind those words uttered by Elizabeth, Why am I so favored? is an assumption all of us make at some point. The assumption is that you must do something in order to earn favor when who you are, exactly the way you find yourself right now, is already acceptable.

After that providential dinner, I took a leap of faith and left a job I loved as a feature writer. I began writing from passion on a personal blog and freelancing for publications. The result was that a reader among a growing number of followers introduced me to an agent; an agent who is now in the process of making me an author.

My long held dream wouldn’t have been possible had I used my own measuring stick of acceptability as an indicator.

The truth is, Elizabeth answered her own question to Mary later in that same paragraph when she said, “Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”

Believe. That seems to be the answer to most of life’s questions, doesn’t it?

The next time you find your mind stuck on a phrase like I’m not good enough, smart enough, pretty enough– you get the picture — choose to believe enough is defined by who God made you, not by what you do. And you will be blessed with the fulfillment of promise.

 

Shelly-34c

Shelly Miller

is smitten with the power of story and enjoys making people think differently about life. As an extrovert, clergy wife and mother of two teens she is currently fulfilling two long held dreams: moving to London and no longer referring to writing as a hobby. Read more on her blog, Redemptions Beauty.

 

Daily Share

Shelly voices something here that so many of us struggle with – ‘I’m not good enough’. Today how about sharing some hope by building up someone you know with an encouraging word? Who can you tell ‘you are good enough’ ? Give someone a call and tell them how much you appreciate them, or write something nice on a friends Facebook wall or text them a word of encouragement. 

 

